My Adventures

Richmond International Raceway, Richmond Virginia

First off, I want to thank everyone for reading my very first blog. I wanted to write about something that I really enjoyed and also something I hope my readers will enjoy reading about. This was something I’ve always wanted to do and of course my incredibly thoughtful wife, who doesn’t forget anything, knew how much I’d love it. She kept it a secret, which is something she’s not very good at, but she did a good job and I had no idea what we were doing til we got to the racetrack.
So let me back up just a little and explain a little more. This was my wife, Candice’s, 9 year anniversary gift to me. A trip to Richmond International Raceway, in Richmond Virginia, for a couple trips around the 3/4 mile D-shaped racetrack. We enjoyed our whole trip to Richmond, but this was by far the highlight of our trip. It’s one thing to go to a race and sit in the grandstands and watch a race, but to actually be out there on the racetrack is a phenomenal feeling. She enjoyed it as much as I did and she’s not near the race fan that I am.
So to put you in that racecar with me, so to speak, I will try to do it some justice and tell you how awesome it felt. The excitement we felt just waiting for our turn was incredible. Watching the cars speed around the racetrack lap after lap, hearing the roar of the engines as they raced by and smelling the rubber from the tires getting so hot. If you’ve ever been to a race and smelt that hot burnt rubber you know that awesome smell I’m talking about. It’s like an addiction to car guys. And women too. The anticipation of getting into the racecar just got tougher and tougher the closer it came for our turn.
So it’s finally my turn and I just wanna say that it definitely didn’t disappoint. Everything about the experience was cool. Even having to climb in through the window, because racecars don’t have working doors. Then pulling off pit road and picking up speed as we were getting up onto the racing surface was an experience I can’t put into words. It was the biggest high I could ever imagine. Coming out of the turns and the car flying towards the wall, which seemed like it was so close I could just reach out and touch it. It was just incredible. I know I was smiling ear to ear and just remembering the experience puts that smile right back on my face. It’s one of the funnest and most exciting things I’ve experienced……… next to swimming with dolphins. That’s right, I think I just gave away what I’ll write about next. Hopefully I’ll have gained some readers by then.

Thanks for taking this journey with me. I really hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed reliving it for you. Please feel free to leave me a comment or send me an email at jonesboy226@yahoo.com and let me know what you thought of my first blog.

About jonesboy226

White male, 44, married for going on 13 years to Candice Jones. 3 kids between the two of us
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Adventures

  1. Seaira says:

    Great story daddy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

